Launceston Golf Club will host the 2017 Thyne Trophy for men and North vs South Plate for women this weekend.

Dave talks with Golf Tasmania’s Stuart Eaton who suggests the favourite to take out this year’s Thyne Trophy at Kings Meadows will be the Southern Metropolitan Golf Association.

Southern Metropolitan is skippered by current Tasmanian men’s team and Tasmania Golf Club member Mark Schulze.

Schulze’s squad this year resembles that of Tasmania’s division one pennant team with Andrew Phillips, Nathan Gatehouse, Paul Read and Richard Kube all teeing up.

ultra106.5fm is proudly supported by:

The remaining three making up the team include Kingston Beach’s Matthew Glover and David Pretyman, and Royal Hobart’s Craig Garland.

The Metropolitan team will be defending the title it won last year at the Pittwater Golf Club.

Northern Golf is expected to perform strongly and will be captained by Launceston Golf Club’s Greg Longmore.

The Northern Golf line-up includes local members Cam Bell, Brett Churchill, Matthew Long and Mitch Van Noord, as well as Prospect Vale’s Jarryd Collis, and Mowbray’s Drew Ponting and James Pyke.

Golf North West boasts a talented side led by Captain/Manager and Ulverstone Golf Club member Craig Walker.

Youngsters Joel Lunson and Caleb Webster from Devonport will benefit greatly from the experience.

Players from the Southern Country Association include Drew Roberts from Llanherne, Elderslie’s Dijon Barrett and North West Bay Golf Club’s Ashley Kline.

The North versus South Plate will be a keenly contested event with the North out to avenge their loss last year at Llanherne Golf Club.

The North has named Riverside Golf Club and former state team member Amanda Smith as Captain.

Ulverstone Golf Club’s Sarah Johnstone, Prospect Vale‘s Lily Caelli and Tammy Hall, and Port Sorell’s Sharon Crowden will be key players for the North.

Richmond Golf Club’s Sue Richardson will Captain the Southern team in their title defence.

Royal Hobart Golf Club’s Pamela Chen and Hallie Meaburn, Kingston Beach’s Jane Hyland and Tasmania Golf Club’s Zahara Lemon will play pivotal roles.

The Thyne Trophy is a round robin match-play tournament for men with each of Tasmania’s four Area Associations represented.

While the annual women’s North vs South Plate will see the two regions battle it out in foursomes and singles match-play.

Each team in the Thyne Trophy competition is comprised of eight members, however, a contest between two teams is determined by seven singles matches.

The Thyne Trophy and North vs South events will be played on Saturday 29 and Sunday 30 April.