Community Diary

Community Diary  is a community service providing churches and not-for-profit community groups free publicity for upcoming events.

To submit an item:

Go to TELL US WHAT’S ON  and complete the form with the details of your upcoming event.

Anzac Day

Date: April 25, 2019

Anzac Day April 25 goes beyond the anniversary of the landing on Gallipoli in 1915.

It is the day on which we remember all Australians who served and died in war and on operational service.

 

http://www.rsltas.org.au/hobart-anzac-day-commemorations/

Secret Garden

Start date: April 12, 2019

End date: April 28, 2019

Secret Garden – presented by John X

Directed by Ben Armitage and Ellen Roe, written by Thomas W. Olson

12 – 28 April 2019

John X Presents are bringing Thomas Olsen’s adaptation of Francis Hodgson Burnett’s classic masterpiece ‘The Secret Garden’ to the Playhouse stage.

Directed by, award winning director Ben Armitage, whossold out season of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe thrilled audiences young and old.

Now come with us on the journey to Misselthwaite manor and unlock the mystery of The Secret Garden’.

With a cast of our brightest new stars as well as some familiar favourites to Hobart theatre lovers, the Secret Garden is suitable for children (6+) and adults alike.

Brickman Awesome

Start date: April 13, 2019

End date: April 28, 2019

Ryan ‘The Brickman’ McNaught is bringing his interactive LEGO® exhibition, Brickman Awesome to Hobart.

Built from more than 450,000 bricks and standing a towering 7.5 metres tall, a replica NASA SLS rocket is the centrepiece attraction of Brickman Awesome and is just one of 37 awe-inspiring creations set to amaze children and adults these Easter school holidays.

A cutaway replica showing the inner workings of Australia’s new icebreaker, the RSV Nuyina—which will become a familiar sight in Hobart when it replaces the Aurora Australis in 2020—will also be on display.

The diverse array of models on show at Brickman Awesome offers something for everyone, including the only life-sized LEGO® Harley Davidson ever made, and the largest ever LEGO® Caterpillar 797 dump truck.

Visitors to Brickman Awesome will be forgiven for thinking they have stepped inside a zoo, as they find themselves surrounded by a LEGO® kangaroo, koala, giant orca whale and even a full-sized LEGO® Australian saltwater crocodile, weighing over 60kgs and built using more than 40,000 LEGO® bricks

Brickman Awesome marks McNaught’s third exhibition made entirely of LEGO® bricks and has been a smash-hit across other Australian cities and now it’s Tasmania’s turn! The 37 models are made from more than two million LEGO® bricks, taking over 5,000 hours of build.

Sat 13 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Sun 14 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Mon 15 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Tue 16 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Wed 17 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Thu 18 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Good Friday 19 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Sat 20 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Sun 21 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Easter Monday  22 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Tue 23 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Wed 24 Apr 2019, 10:00am

ANZAC Day Thu 25 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Fri 26 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Sat 27 Apr 2019, 10:00am

Sun 28 Apr 2019, 10:00am

What:             Brickman Awesome

When:            Saturday, 13 April – Sunday, 28 April 2019

Where:           Mac2, 18 Hunter Street, Hobart

Tickets:          https://m.ticketek.com.au/shows/show.aspx?sh=BRICKAWE19